Escudo de la República de Colombia Escudo de la República de Colombia
Logotipo UN
Elija un buscador del SIUN

Excellence centres

The University is an active part of six research and innovation excellence centres; three originated from grants by Colciencias in 2005, 2006, and 2007; the other three are regional centres created in Antioquia.

Among these research excellence centres of Colciencias (CIE) we have:

  1. Centre of Interdisciplinary Basic and Applied Studies in Complexity (CEIBA) 
    This centre started operations in 2007, with the participation of 21 research groups from the University of the Antes (9), Pontificia Universidad Javeriana (1), Universidad del Rosario (1) and Universidad Nacional de Colombia (10). [Website]
  2. Colombian Centre for Genomics and Bioinformatics of Extreme Environments (Gebix)
    Fourteen groups from these institutions participate in this centre: Universidad del Cauca (1), U. de Caldas (1), U. de los Andes (1), Pontificia Universidad Javeriana (4), U. del Valle (2), U. Nacional de Colombia (4), as well as groups from Corpogen (1) y Parque Soft (1). [Website]
  3. Centre of Excellence for Novel Materials (CENM)
    This centre has 18 research groups from Universidad del Tolima (1), U. del Quindío (1), U. Tecnológica de Pereira (1), U. Industrial de Santander (2), U. del Cauca (1), U. Autónoma de Occidente (1), U. del Norte (1), U. de Antioquia (3), U. del Valle (6), and U. Nacional de Colombia (1). [Website]
  4. Regional Alliance for Applied Information and Communication Technologies (ARTICA)
    The University, through its Medellín campus, participates in this centre, comprised by the U. of Antioquia, U. Nacional de Colombia, EAFIT, U. Pontificia Bolivariana, and Icesi, as well as IPS Universitaria and UNE-Telecomunicaciones. [Website]
  5. Centre for Research and Innovation in Energy (CIIEN)
    The U. Nacional de Colombia is also part of CIIEN, with the Empresas Públicas de Medellín E.S.P., the Universidad de Antioquia, the U. Pontificia Bolivariana, and Instituto Tecnológico Metropolitano. [Website]
  6. Excellence Centre of Research and Innovation for Biotechnology and Biodiversity of Antioquia (CIIEBB)
    CIIEBB partners are: Universidad CES, U. EAFIT, U. de Medellín (Sede de Investigación Universitaria, SIU), Parque Tecnológico de Antioquia, Escuela de Ingeniería de Antioquia (EIA), Corporación Interuniversitaria de Servicios (CIS), Ecoflora, PRIME, U. de Antioquia, and the Medellín campus of U. Nacional de Colombia.

    In these six cases, the participation of research groups or entities from the UN is logistically and financially supported through the Research Vice Rectory or the campuses’ Research Directions. In the particular case of the Research and Innovation Centres (CII), the direct leadership of the Medellín Campus Vice Rectory has been fundamental.

  7. Colombian Observatory for Integral Development, Community Coexistence, and Institutional Strengthening in Regions Strongly Affected by the Armed Conflict (ODECOFI) [Website]